Skatter Library

Great plug-in - still learning. How do I create library objects for skatterring? II thought it would be easy and fairly intuitive and perhaps it is, but I am struggling. For an initial attempt I wanted to add some ferns. The manual says first create a setup but does not define what exactly is a setup? So what ever I have tried nothing seems to become available in the library dialogue. As a landscape architect I will use Skatter frequently but I bought it initially for a project which is nearly complete except for the wildflower and woodland meadows. In my thinking I imagined I would simply add: ferns, tree ferns, sedges, foxgloves and harebells, primulas etc in minutes and then be able to use them in Skatter. The fact that there are only two objects in the Skatter library and that Thomas is working on the library updates perhaps suggests to me this is a much more involved task than I first imagined. Either way any guidance appreciated.

Thanks

Hi Graham,

I agree that the library as a whole should be better. And it will be! Besides new content that I am working on right now, the browser itself is getting completely re-written.

Now, to you issue : Could you give me more details where/when you are struggling when saving a new preset in the library? Maybe record a small video with something like JING : https://www.techsmith.com/jing.html
You’re saying that you see only two presets in the library, there should be nine. So there might be an issue when it displays the setups.

By the way, a “setup” is simply a set of values and options you put in the Skatter dialog, that you can generate.

Hi Thomas